Kekusheva’s Mansion

21, Ostozhenka str.
Year of construction:
1903
Architect:
Style:
Art Nouveau
Now Ostozhenka Street is home to the most expensive real estate in the capital. Until the 17th century, there were meadows and grasslands; an integral part of the picturesque landscape were haystacks. Hence the origin of the street name. 

In the 19th century, Ostozhenka became bourgeois, and the famous Moscow Art Nouveau architect Lev Kekushev built a house for his family there. It was the second house designed by Lev Kekushev for himself. 

The first one is in Glazovsky Lane; soon after completion, it was sold to industrialist Otto List. 

Fans of Mikhail Bulgakov’s writing believe that this gothic mansion on Ostozhenka was the most likely place where his protagonist Margarita lived. 

Lev Kekushev drew up the Ostozhenka design for one of the mansions commissioned by S.I. Mamontov in 1899, which was initially supposed to be erected by the Northern House-Building Society in the vicinity of Tverskoy Boulevard. Mamontov suffered bankruptcy, the large-scale construction project was not implemented, and Kekushev used his provisional plans for a house on Ostozhenka. 

The building adhered to the Gothic style that came into fashion in this period and resembled a medieval European castle featuring an asymmetric layout, volumes of different height, and a faceted turret with a long spire. 

The architect and his entire family, including his spouse Anna, son and daughters, moved into this house in 1903. This dwelling was spacious and fitted with hot-air heating, cold and hot water plumbing, sewage removal system, and beautiful furnishings made according to the architect’s blueprints. It also had a plot of land and an outbuilding. 

The house interiors are relatively humble yet very functional. They combined wood, stone, and metal. 

The grand staircase is the centerpiece of the composition; all other rooms are grouped around it. It is adorned with openwork railing comprising artfully inserted sunflowers and honesty. This motif symbolizes the circle of seasons and reflects the aesthetics of the Silver Age. 

The exact role of each room is unknown; however, supposedly, the ground floor had homeowner’s study (facing the courtyard), house mistress’s study (facing the street), while the second floor had dining and sitting rooms (divided by an extendible glass partition), a bedroom and a cloakroom. The mezzanine floor was apparently reserved for children. 

Soon after, the house got a new owner. Lev Kekushev's archive contains a photo with the architect's handwritten note “Smitsky's house”.  
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
Album
«Moscow mansions»

Restoration (2018)

Laureate of the competition "Moscow Restoration - 2018": for the best organization of repair and restoration work, for the best project of restoration / adaptation, for the high quality of repair and restoration work.

For the last several decades, the Office of the Military Attaché of the Arab Republic of Egypt occupied Ostozhensky “castle”. In 2013, GlavUpDK under the MFA of Russia commenced a complete overhaul of the building, including some restoration.

Apart from necessary tasks such as strengthening foundations and vaulted ceilings, damp-proofing of floors and walls, and installing the up-to-date utility systems, many lost pre-existing decoration ornaments were restored. The building regained historically accurate roofing, which matched the clay tiles patterns but consisted of modern titan-zinc alloy. Spelter (a non-ferrous alloy) details of the façades were restored while the missing chimney bonnets were re-installed to match other similar buildings designed by Lev Kekushev.

Returning the colossal (3 x 2 m) bronze lion sculpture to the gable of the main façade became the zenith of exterior restoration works and a notable event for the fans of architecture.

This sculpture, a symbol of Kekushev’s art style which he repeatedly used in his designs, disappeared in the early 10th century under questionable circumstances and now has been recreated per archive documents. Even though the lion sits 15 meters above the ground, it can withstand the most extreme weather while not putting too much pressure on the building’s frame.

The façades got back their original colors made up of five different kinds of brick masonry; eagle figures nestled in secluded nooks of the façade; beautiful stucco ornaments (chestnut leaves and fruits and floral arrangements) were cleaned up.

Several bricked-up door and window openings were also restored to their original shape.

The interior restorers paid particular attention to recreating the authentic color appearance of door units, wall panels, and built-in furniture. A noble dark brown color scheme reflected Kekushev’s initial design idea. Worn-out parquet floors, two rare fireplaces (in Kekushev's office and the bedroom), chandeliers, and copper heating grilles that still existed in some rooms were restored.

Restorers resorted to technologies and materials of the early 20th century; however, modern injection, grouting and shotcreting technologies were also used. The unique iron fence and gate with their original ornaments were restored.
Next mansion
City estate of A.A. Kazakov – E.D. Dunker
9, Povarskaya str.

особняк Кекушевой

Остоженка улица, дом 21
Год постройки:
1903
Архитектор:
Стиль:
Модерн

Сейчас на улице Остоженке располагается самая дорогая столичная недвижимость. До XVII века здесь находились луга и покосы, неотъемлемой частью живописного ландшафта были стога сена. Отсюда и происхождение названия.

В XIX веке Остоженка приобрела буржуазный характер, и знаменитый архитектор московского модерна Лев Кекушев построил здесь дом для своей семьи. Это второй дом, который он спроектировал исключительно под себя.

Первый, в Глазовском переулке, вскоре после завершения строительства был продан фабриканту Отто Листу.

Поклонники творчества Михаила Булгакова считают этот готический особняк на Остоженке одним из наиболее вероятных претендентов на роль дома Маргариты.

Проект строительства дома на Остоженке Лев Николаевич составил в 1899 году для одного из заказанных С. И. Мамонтовым особняков, которые предполагалось возводить его Северным домостроительным обществом в районе Тверского бульвара. Из-за банкротства Мамонтова проект масштабного строительства не состоялся, и Кекушев использовал свои наработки при планировании дома на Остоженке.

Стиль здания – сплетение готики и модерна, оно напоминает средневековый европейский замок: асимметричная композиция, разная высота объемов, граненая башенка с высоким шпилем.

Архитектор переехал в дом в 1903 году со всем своим семейством – супругой Анной Ионовной, сыном и дочерьми. Жилище было просторным, снабжено калориферным отоплением, холодным и горячим водоснабжением, канализацией, великолепно меблировано по авторским чертежам, с участком и хозяйственными корпусами.

Интерьеры дома во многом скромные, но в то же время очень функциональные, в отделке использованы дерево, камень и металл.

Центр композиции – парадная лестница, вокруг которой сгруппированы остальные помещения. Она декорирована уникальным ажурным ограждением с виртуозно вписанными цветами подсолнуха и лунника. Подобный мотив символизирует круговорот времени и отражает эстетику Серебряного века.

Точное назначение каждой из комнат особняка неизвестно, но можно предположить, что на первом этаже находились кабинеты хозяина (с видом на двор) и хозяйки (с видом на улицу); на втором – столовая и гостиная (они отделены друг от друга раздвижной стеклянной перегородкой), а также спальня с гардеробной. Третий же, мансардный этаж, возможно, был отдан детям.

Вскоре здание переходит к совершенно другому человеку, о чем свидетельствует сохранившийся в архиве Л. Н. Кекушева фотоснимок с надписью рукою архитектора: «Дом Смитского».


Главный фасад особняка на улице Остоженка, дом 21
Главный вход в особняк на улице Остоженка, дом 21
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
Альбом
«Московские особняки. 2011»

Реставрация (2018)

Лауреат конкурса «Московская реставрация — 2018»: за лучшую организацию ремонтно-реставрационных работ, за лучший проект реставрации/приспособления, за высокое качество ремонтнореставрационных работ. 

Последние несколько десятилетий остоженский «замок» занимало Бюро военного атташе Арабской Республики Египет. В 2013 году ГлавУпДК при МИД России приступило к капитальному ремонту с элементами реставрации.

Помимо обязательных для последующей эксплуатации пунктов – укрепления фундаментов и сводчатых потолков, гидроизоляции пола и стен, монтажа самых современных инженерных систем, – воссоздан целый ряд исчезнувших ранее декоративных элементов. Так, здание обрело исторически верное покрытие кровли, повторяющее по рисунку черепицу, но выполненное с применением передового материала – титан-цинка. Отреставрированы детали из шпиатра (сплава цветных металлов) на фасадах, а утраченные дымники над печными трубами восстановлены по аналогам на других постройках Л. Н. Кекушева.

Венцом наружных реставрационных работ и безусловным событием для любителей архитектуры стало возвращение на щипец главного фасада колоссальной (3х2 м) бронзовой скульптуры льва.

Пропавшая при неясных обстоятельствах еще в начале прошлого века эта скульптура – символ творчества Кекушева, практически постоянно использовавшийся им в его работах, – была тщательно воссоздана по архивным материалам. Несмотря на то что лев поднят на пятнадцатиметровую высоту, он способен выдерживать даже экстремальные погодные условия и вместе с тем не оказывает слишком сильного давления на конструкции здания

Самим фасадам также возвращен изначальный цвет, сочетающий пять различных оттенков кирпича; в укромных нишах на фасаде снова «поселились» фигуры орлов; великолепная лепнина (листья и плоды каштана, цветочные орнаменты) очищена от загрязнений.

Также были открыты несколько заложенных дверных и оконных проемов.

При интерьерных реставрационных работах особое внимание уделялось воссозданию подлинного колористического облика дверных блоков, стеновых панелей, встроенной мебели. Они стали такими, какими и задумывал их Кекушев, – благородного темно-коричневого тона. Были проведены работы по сильно пострадавшим от времени паркетным полам, двум раритетным каминам (в кабинете Кекушева и в спальне), люстрам и сохранившимся в некоторых помещениях медным калориферным решеткам.

Во время работ применялись техника и материалы начала ХХ века, однако для укрепления и защиты конструкций использовались и современные технологии инъектирования, цементации и торкретирования. Также были отреставрированы уникальные металлические ограда и ворота с неповторимым рисунком.

Следующий особняк
Городская усадьба А.А.Казакова – Е.Д.Дункер
Поварская улица, дом 9