Z.G. Morozova's Mansion. Reception House of the Russian Foreign Ministry

Today Spiridonovka Street is an integral part of one of Moscow's most fashionable high-society neighborhoods, Patriarch's Ponds. Until the 17th century, they herded goats and hunted hares here. The street was named after the church of Spyridon the Wonderworker built here. The fire of 1812 burned down all the wooden houses of Spiridonovka, and the construction of noblemen's and merchants' mansions began. The Goat Swamp was forgotten – Moscow was growing, and Patriarch's Ponds no longer seemed to be an outpost. 

The last years of the 19th century saw the foundation of two mansions by the architect Fyodor Schechtel: Stepan Ryabushinsky's House and Zinaida Morozova's Palazzo, both in Spiridonovka. Contemporaries came up with the saying: “Two beautiful daughters of one dad argue about the love of a passing young lad.” It refers to the mansions of Stepan Ryabushinsky (2 Spiridonovka Street) and Zinaida Morozova (17 Spiridonovka Street). 

The street's crown jewel is building No. 17, Zinaida Morozova's mansion, which is considered a masterpiece of early Moscow Art Nouveau (1890s). However, the first references to the house with this address date back to the mid-18th century. Back then, the estate was larger and belonged to Privy Councilor Illarion Vorontsov. 

In 1812, the big fire severely damaged all local buildings and adjacent sites; they were subsequently acquired by a poet and statesman I.I. Dmitriev. Alexander Pushkin and Nikolai Gogol stayed as guests at the newly built homestead. 

Zinaida Morozova, one of the most influential women in Moscow of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, was the owner of the beautiful mansion at 17 Spiridonovka Street.  The gorgeous house was the fulfilled promise of businessman and philanthropist Savva Morozov. The merchant's word was given at the matchmaking, and a decade later, Savva Morozov erected a house of exceptional beauty in honor of his wife. 

Zinaida Morozova hosted the most lavish receptions in the Spiridonovka mansion. Zinaida Morozova hosted the most lavish receptions in the Spiridonovka mansion. Minister Sergei Witte, Grand Duchess Elizabeth Feodorovna of Russia, writer Anton Chekhov, painters Isaac Levitan and Alexandre Benois visited this place. Feodor Chaliapin performed here, and Prince Sergey Shcherbatov left an entry in his diary: “The newly-built palace of enormous size and unusual splendor in the English Gothic style on Spiridonovka Street was such an attractive phenomenon... The hostess, Zinaida Morozova, of great intelligence, with a natural tact, dressed with beautiful pearls, received her guests with royal grandeur.” 

The mansion on Spiridonovka was among the first sizeable individual projects by architect Fyodor Schechtel. He offered the house owners three styling options: French Renaissance, Rococo, and English Neo-Gothic. The Morozovs had long-standing ties with textile manufactures of Manchester, Savva Morozov himself studied at the University of Cambridge; he was a known Anglophile and therefore chose the latter option. 

The new structure was set back from the frontage line to accommodate all back-of-house services. 

Strict geometric boundaries of the mansion create an asymmetrical contrast with its tower-like corner part. The main entrance, a protruding porch with three arched portals, is located on the right side. The left side overlooks a small garden offering more privacy. 

Main interiors, which recreate a romantic atmosphere of knights and Middle Ages, look opulent in contrast with the quite austere appearance of the façades. 
However, there are also Renaissance, Rocaille, and Empire halls. 

The rooms were decorated by artist Mikhail Vrubel. He sketched Returning of Victorious Knight, an image for a stained glass window, which adorned the staircase end wall. At the base of the stairs, Vrubel placed a sculptural composition based on Giacomo Meyerbeer's opera Robert the Devil. The same artist painted allegoric panels for the drawing room. 

A grand housewarming party took place on February 8, 1897, but family happiness did not last long. In 1898, Savva Morozov bought a principal share of Moscow Art Theater, where he met actress Maria Andreeva. In 1905, Morozov's dead body was discovered in a hotel room in Cannes with a Browning gun and a suicide note nearby. Zinaida never believed that her husband killed himself. Some time later, she married again – to the Moscow town governor, Major-General A.A. Reinbot. In 1909, she sold the mansion to Mikhail Ryabushinsky. She claimed that Savva’s spirit wouldn’t let her alone and haunted the house: she could hear him clearing his throat, shuffling around, and moving items on the desk. 

Ryabushinsky moved in Spiridonovka with his family and his magnificent collection of paintings by Russian and European artists. The new owner did not introduce any alterations; he merely ordered three panels from the artist K.F. Bogaevsky to decorate the Royal Drawing Room in 1912. 

The October Revolution stripped the house of its owners. After nationalization, the mansion first housed a Provincial Food Committee, then an orphanage for refugees from Bucharest; its outbuilding was a seat of Joseph Stalin Uzbek Institute of Education. 

In 1929, the mansion was put under the management of GlavUpDK, and a decade later, MFA's House of Receptions opened here. 

The mansion walls witnessed many meetings of top public officials and signings of major declarations and agreements. 

Ordered by A.A. Gromyko, USSR Minister of Foreign Affairs, a large-scale reconstruction of historical interiors took place there from 1973 to 1987.
 
The fire of August 4, 1995 was an ordeal for Schechtel's masterpiece. The flames partly destroyed decorations of staterooms; however, most interiors survived intact. 

Using archived drawings and photographs, GlavUpDK could quickly return the mansion to its initial condition. 

Currently, Morozov’s palazzo remains under GlavUpDK’s management. The organization makes every effort to preserve its historical appearance and regularly performs comprehensive repair and restoration. The building continues to house the Reception House belonging to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation. Morozov's palazzo has not lost its status of a political and social activities hub. 
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
Album
«Moscow mansions (mansion at 17 Spiridonovka). 2011»

Restoration (1996, 2021)

Twice laureate of the competition of the Government of Moscow "Restoration-96" for the best restoration, reconstruction of architectural monuments and other objects of the historical and urban environment of Moscow.

After the tragedy, companies from the United States, Poland, Turkey, and Slovenia offered to help rebuild the artwork. Materials came from Germany, China, Austria, Finland... The furniture was ordered from Italy, Hungary and India. Sixty-seven different construction and restoration firms from Russia and abroad, selected on a competitive basis, were given the right to work on the mansion. Dipkomfort, a subsidiary of GlavUpDK, coordinated all the work. 180 to 300 people simultaneously worked three shifts a day, seven days a week, on “Object 1”, hidden by the yellow and white covers. 

They did powerfully, quickly, and all at the same time. The mansion has been reconstructed from a set of old drawings provided by the Museum of Architecture. They all had the personal signature of the architect of the project: Fyodor Schechtel. The MFA kept the construction site under constant review. 

The daily struggle to save the masterpiece continued for almost a year. The highest-level renovation work on the façades and interiors was performed by experts from Preobrazhenie JSC, Stroyservis-5, SMS-5, KVIO, Stark Kamen, Antik, Warsaw Heritage Restoration, and other companies.  The team of restorers from the State Tretyakov Gallery headed by the Honored Art Worker of Russia A. P. Kovalev brought back to life M. A. Vrubel's panels Morning, Noon and Evening in the Small Drawing Room.  A life-size stained-glass window by M.A. Vrubel, The Knight, was recreated from the sketch. The sketch was made by M. Razanov, an assistant professor at the Strongman Institute. Under his supervision, a British company Goddard & Gibbs with over a century-long history of stained glass manufacturing, produced the stained glass window. 

K.F. Bogaevsky's panel had to be basically re-created after the fire. The Interregional Scientific and Restoration Art Department of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation and a group of restorers were commissioned to undertake the reconstruction: В. Stukov, Yu. Pakhomov, M. Chistyakov, under the leadership of A. Kuznetsov, took on the work. The special tapestry-weave canvases were made at the Gavrilov-Yam Linen Factory, but there were no machines left at the factory for this width, almost 4.5 meters, and the restorers had to stitch crafty the canvases together. The overall work lasted for seven months. 

Completed by August 1996, the mansion restoration was a unique event in Russian restoration practice. The work was highly praised by professionals and the general public alike. In 1996, work on the restoration of this architectural monument was awarded a diploma by the Moscow government. 


Laureate of the Moscow Restoration 2021 competition: For the best organization of repair and restoration work at cultural heritage sites.

In 2021 the Department of Major Construction of GlavUpDK has completed the restoration of the façade of the Zinaida Morozova mansion. 

In the history of the building, one of the most prominent cultural heritage sites in Moscow, this was the first such large-scale restoration of the façades. GlavUpDK, together with specialized organizations, worked on the mansion’s façades, roof, and fence.

The work began in late 2019 to thoroughly restore more than 60 percent of the surface of the entire façade. In particular, numerous decorative elements have been restored and reinforced: stained glass windows, gargoyles of spelter, and chimeras. The complex parapet decoration on the balcony, terraces, and machicolations of the main tower (donjon) on the east façade have been restored, together with the finials shaped as tiny castles.

The roofing material has been replaced by modern and durable zinc-titanium, which is ductile enough to preserve the roof’s sophisticated shape. "For the roof, we used not just galvanized metal, but an alloy of titanium-zinc, a material suitable for making durable and still sophisticated decorative roof elements. We decided to do this, because we realize that with quality installation the roof’s lifespan is about 30 years. The same is true of the other materials used," says Dmitry Drachev, Head of the Department of Major Construction, GlavUpDK under the MFA of Russia. The drainage system has also been recreated.

The mansion’s unique ensemble is completed with the restored fence along Spiridonovka Street and new architectural lighting, which spectacularly highlights the shapes and details of the building in the evening, staying almost invisible during the day.

The experts who took part in the restoration noted the highest quality of the mansion's construction and the good condition of the core structures and some of the materials used, such as high-quality concrete of the late 19th century.

Next mansion
Starokonyushenny Lane, 12-14-16
12-14-16, Starokonyushenny lane

Спиридоновка, 17, особняк З.Г. Морозовой. Дом приемов МИД России

Год постройки: 1898

Архитектор: Ф.О.Шехтель

Объект культурного наследия федерального значения

Сегодня улица Спиридоновка – неотъемлемая часть одного из самых модных светских районов Москвы – Патриарших прудов. А вплоть до XVII века здесь выпасали коз и охотились на зайцев. Название же своё улица обрела благодаря постройке храма Спиридона Чудотворца. В пожаре 1812 года сгорели все деревянные дома Спиридоновки, и началось строительство дворянских и купеческих особняков. О Козьем болотце забыли – Москва разрасталась, и Патриаршие пруды больше не казались выселками.

В последние годы XIX столетия на Спиридоновке были заложены фундаменты двух особняков архитектора Федора Шехтеля — Дом Степана Рябушинского и «Палаццо» Зинаиды Морозовой, о которых  современники придумали присказку: «Две красавицы-дочки одного отца спорят о любви проезжего молодца». 

Главное украшение улицы – дом № 17, особняк Зинаиды Морозовой, считается шедевром раннего московского модерна (1890-е годы). Однако первые сведения о доме под этим адресом восходят еще к середине XVIII века. Территория участка была тогда обширнее и принадлежала тайному советнику И. Г. Воронцову.

В 1812-м все здешние постройки и прилегающие территории сильно пострадали от пожара, и позднее их приобрел поэт и государственный деятель И.И.Дмитриев. В выстроенной им заново усадьбе несколько раз гостили А.С. Пушкин и Н.В. Гоголь.

А в самом конце XIX века здесь появился новый прекрасный особняк,  хозяйкой которого стала одна из самых влиятельных женщин Москвы того времени – Зинаида Морозова. Особняк стал исполненным обещанием предпринимателя и мецената Саввы Морозова. Купеческое слово было дано при сватовстве, и спустя десятилетие Савва Морозов возвел в честь жены исключительной красоты дом.

Зинаида Морозова устраивала самые богатые приемы в особняке на Спиридоновке. Здесь бывали министр Сергей Витте, великая княгиня Елизавета Федоровна, писатель Антон Чехов, художники Исаак Левитан и Александр Бенуа, здесь пел Федор Шаляпин, а князь Сергей Щербатов оставил запись в дневнике: «Таким интересным явлением был вновь выстроенный дворец огромных размеров и необычно роскошный в англоготическом стиле на Спиридоновке...Хозяйка, Зинаида Григорьевна Морозова, большого ума, с прирожденным тактом, вся увешанная дивными жемчугами, принимала гостей с поистине королевским величием».

Особняк на Спиридоновке стал одной из первых крупных самостоятельных работ архитектора Федора Шехтеля. Он предложил хозяевам три проекта главного дома: в стилях французского ренессанса, рококо и английской неоготики. У Морозовых были давние связи с текстильным Манчестером, сам Савва Тимофеевич учился в Кембриджском университете, считался известным англоманом и поэтому выбрал последний стиль.

Новое сооружение поставили с отступом от красной линии, где разместились все подсобные службы.

Строгие геометрические объемы особняка создают асимметричную композицию с угловой башнеобразной частью. Главный вход – выступающее крыльцо с тремя арками-порталами – размещен в правом торце. Левая, более приватная, часть выходит в небольшой сад.

С довольно аскетичным видом фасадов контрастируют парадные интерьеры, воссоздающие романтическую атмосферу рыцарского Средневековья.

Впрочем, есть и ренессансные, рокайльные, ампирные залы.

Над убранством помещений трудился художник Михаил Врубель. Он сделал эскиз витража «Встреча рыцаря-победителя», который украшает торцевую стену лестничного пространства. У основания лестницы Михаил Александрович поместил скульптурную композицию по мотивам оперы Дж. Мейербера «Роберт-дьявол». Также художником были написаны аллегорические панно для Малой гостиной.

Пышное новоселье в особняке состоялось 8 февраля 1897 года, однако семейное счастье царило в нем недолго. В 1898 году Савва Морозов стал одним из главных пайщиков Московского Художественного театра, где встретил актрису Марию Андрееву. В 1905 году тело Морозова нашли в номере гостиницы во французском Канне, рядом – браунинг и записку с просьбой никого не винить. Но Зинаида так и не поверила в самоубийство мужа. Спустя некоторое время она снова вышла замуж – за московского градоначальника генерал-майора А.А. Рейнбота, а в 1909 году продала особняк Михаилу Павловичу Рябушинскому. Она говорила, что дух Саввы не дает ей жизни в этом доме – по ночам в кабинете слышатся его покашливания, шаркающая походка, перемещаются предметы на столе.

Рябушинский переехал на Спиридоновку со своей семьей и великолепной коллекцией полотен русских и европейских живописцев. Новый владелец не стал ничего переделывать, только заказал в 1912 году художнику К. Ф. Богаевскому три панно для Рокайльной гостиной.

Октябрьская революция лишила дом и этих хозяев. После национализации здесь последовательно располагались Губернский продовольственный комитет, приют для сирот – беженцев из Бухареста, а во флигеле – Узбекский институт просвещения имени Иосифа Сталина.

В 1929 году особняк был передан в хозяйственное ведение ГлавУпДК, и спустя еще десятилетие здесь открылся Дом приемов иностранных делегаций.

Стены особняка неоднократно становились свидетелями встреч первых лиц государства, подписаний важных деклараций и соглашений.

С 1973 по 1987 год по распоряжению министра иностранных дел СССР А.А.Громыко в здании проходили масштабные работы по ремонту исторических интерьеров.

Серьезнейшим испытанием для творения Ф.О.Шехтеля стал пожар, случившийся 4 августа 1995 года. Пламя уничтожило часть убранства парадных залов, но большую часть интерьеров удалось спасти.

В кратчайшие сроки ГлавУпДК удалось восстановить особняк по архивным чертежам и фотографиям.

В настоящее время морозовское «палаццо» находится в ведении ГлавУпДК. Предприятие предпринимает максимум усилий по сохранению его исторического облика, регулярно проводя в нем комплексные ремонтно-реставрационные работы. В самом же здании по-прежнему располагается Дом приемов Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации, сохраняя за морозовским «палаццо» статус центра политической и общественной жизни.

Реставрация (1996, 2021)

После случившейся трагедии свою помощь в восстановлении шедевра предложили фирмы из США, Польши, Турции, Словении. Материалы шли из Германии, Китая, Австрии, Финляндии... Мебель заказывалась в Италии, Венгрии, Индии. 67 различных строительных и реставрационных фирм из России и из-за рубежа, выбранные на конкурсной основе, получили право вести работы на особняке. Координировало все работы дочернее предприятие ГлавУпДК фирма "Дипкомфорт". Ежедневно, без выходных, в три смены выходили работать на "объект № 1", скрытый желто-белыми чехлами, одновременно от 180 до 300 человек.

Делали мощно, быстро и всё одновременно. Воссоздание особняка осуществлялось по комплекту старинных чертежей, представленных Музеем архитектуры. Все они имели личную подпись автора проекта: Федор Шехтель. МИД держал стройку под постоянным контролем.

Без малого год продолжалась каждодневная борьба за спасение шедевра. Реставрационные отделочные работы высшей сложности выполнили на фасадах и в интерьерах дома специалисты акционерного общества "Преображение", фирм «Стройсервис-5», «СМС-5», «КВИО», «Старк-камень», «Антик», мастерские по реставрации памятников старины в Варшаве и другие организации. Коллектив реставраторов Государственной Третьяковской галереи под руководством заслуженного деятеля искусств России А. П. Ковалева вернул к жизни панно М. А. Врубеля "Утро", "Полдень", "Вечер" из Малой гостиной. По эскизу в натуральную величину был воссоздан заново витраж М. А. Врубеля "Рыцарь". Эскиз выполнил доцент Строгановского института М. Ф. Разанов, под его наблюдением витраж изготовила английская фирма "Goddard & Gibbs", более ста лет специализирующаяся на изготовлении витражей.

Панно Богаевского после пожара пришлось, в сущности, создавать заново. Заказ на реконструкцию получило Межобластное научно-реставрационное художественное управление Минкульта РФ и группа реставраторов: В. Стуков, Ю. Пахомов, М. Чистяков под руководством А. Кузнецова — принялась за работу. Особые, гобеленового плетения, холсты были специально изготовлены на Гаврилов-Ямском льнокомбинате, причем станков, рассчитанных на нужную ширину — почти 4,5 метра, — не сохранилось и реставраторам пришлось хитро сшивать полотнища. Вся работа длилась семь месяцев.

Успешно завершенное к августу 1996 года восстановление особняка стало поистине беспрецедентным событием в русской реставрационной практике. Работы получили высшую оценку как специалистов, так и широкой общественности. В 1996 году работы по воссозданию этого памятника архитектуры были отмечены дипломом правительства Москвы. 


В 2021 году Департамент капитального строительства ГлавУпДК при МИД России завершил комплексную реставрацию фасада особняка. 

В истории здания это первая столь масштабная реставрация фасадов. ГлавУпДК совместно со специализированными организациями были проведены работы по фасадам, кровле и ограде особняка.

В ходе работ, начавшихся в конце 2019 года, была проведена кропотливая реставрация более 60% поверхности наружной части особняка. В частности, отреставрированы и укреплены многочисленные элементы декора: витражи, горгульи из шпиатра, химеры. Отреставрирован сложный парапетный декор на балконе, террасах и машикули основной башни (донжона) на восточном фасаде, а также фиалы в виде миниатюрных замков.

Материал кровли заменен на современный и долговечный цинк-титан, благодаря его высокой пластичности, крыша сохранила свою сложную форму. «Для кровли мы использовали не просто оцинкованный металл, а сплав титанцинк — материал, из которого можно делать надежные и в то же время сложные по форме декоративные элементы кровли. Мы пошли на это, так как понимаем, что при качественном монтаже срок эксплуатации такой кровли составляет около 30 лет. То же касается и других примененных материалов»,  –  отмечает Дмитрий Драчев, начальник отдела департамента капитального строительства ГлавУпДК при МИД России. Также воссоздана водосточная система.

Завершает уникальный ансамбль особняка отреставрированная ограда, проходящая вдоль Спиридоновки, и новая архитектурная подсветка, в вечернее время эффектно подчеркивающая объем здания и его детали, а днем  –  практически незаметная для прохожих.

Эксперты, принимавшие участие в реставрации, отметили высочайшее качество производства работ при строительстве особняка и высокую степень сохранности основных конструкций и некоторых примененных материалов, например, высокомарочного бетона конца 19 века.